Meet your new AMT Board of Directors
Home / Blog / Meet your new AMT Board of Directors

Meet your new AMT Board of Directors

New directors were elected to the AMT board during the 2022 AMT Annual Business meeting in Scottsdale, AZ on July 21 and included Michael Waide MT (AMT), Katrina Fryar MT (AMT) and Christopher Williams RMA (AMT). New officers were named also, including President, Ken Hawker MT (AMT), Vice President, Marty Hinkel MT (AMT), Fran Oran RMA (AMT) Secretary, and Harry Narine RPT (AMT) as Treasurer.

President: Ken Hawker MT(AMT)

Ken resides in West Jordan, Utah, and was certified in 1976. He has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2014 including serving as Treasurer. He served as the UTSSAMT Editor from 2017-2018 and also served on the UTSSAMT Board of Directors and in the COSSAMT as Vice President (1992-1995), Editor (1992-1997) and Western District Councillor (2010-2014). Ken retired from ARUP Labs in Salt Lake City, Utah, in 2015. His education includes medical laboratory specialist, U.S. Air Force (1971); Associate of Science, Wharton County Jr. College, Wharton, Texas (1977), Bachelor of Science, Arlington Baptist College, Arlington, Texas (1980).


Vice President: Martha (Marty) Hinkel MT(AMT)

Marty resides in Worland, Wyoming, and was certified in 1997. She has served in multiple capacities at the state level for AMT including Rocky Mountain State Society President (RMSSAMT) (2002-2006), Vice President (2001-2002), Secretary (2008-2010) and Treasurer (2015-2017). Additionally, she has been on the AMT Board of Directors since 2018. Her state awards include RMSSAMT Technologist of the Year (2007,2011, 2016), RMSSAMT Mentor (2008, 2010), RMSSAMT Pillar (2012) and RMSSAMT Golden Nugget (2013). Marty received the following national AMT awards: Distinguished Achievement (2003), President’s Award (2004), 2nd Place Technical Writing Award (2005), Exceptional Merit (2010), Pillar (2014) and Technologist of the Year (2016).


Secretary: Francine Oran, RMA(AMT), AHI(AMT)

Fran resides in Lincoln, Nebraska, and was certified by AMT in 2003. She has held multiple leadership roles including Central Plains State Society (CPSAMT) Treasurer (2006-2012 and 2020-present), Secretary (2012- 2018) and Prairie Tech Editor/Co-Editor (2010-2018). She has also served as a Member-at-Large on the national AMT Board of Directors since 2018.



Treasurer: Harry Narine RPT(AMT)

Harry resides in Sangre Grande, Trinidad and Tobago, and was certified in 2000. He is currently Vice President of the Caribbean Society of AMT (CASMET) and has also served as President (2015-2017), President Elect (2013-2015), Vice President (2011-2013), Assistant Treasurer (2009-2011), Treasurer (2003-2009) and Council Member (1999- 2003). Since 2018 he has served as a Member-at-Large for the national AMT Board of Directors. His awards from CASMET include: Medical Technologist of the Region (2009), Continuing Education (2005, 2007, 2015, 2017 and 2019) and Medical Laboratory Technician of the Region (1999, 2001, 2003 and 2005). His national honors include Pillar Award (2017), Exceptional Merit Award (2011), Phlebotomy Technician of the Year (2007) and Distinguished Award (2006).


Member-at-Large: Katrina Fryar, MT(AMT)

Katrina Fryar has been actively involved with AMT and the Texas State Society of AMT(TxSSAMT) since she was certified in 2008. For TxSSAMT, Katrina has been a member and chair on several committees, conference presenter and contributor to The New Texan state journal. She has served on the Texas Board of Directors as Secretary and President. On a national level, Katrina was the AMT Board of Directors Under-40 Board Observer in 2018. Katrina was involved with ad hoc committee for AMT Welcome and AMT State Society President. She received the 2013 AMT Distinguished Achievement Award and the TxSSAMT 2016 President’s Award. Katrina graduated with a bachelor's degree in genetics and a minor in history from Texas A&M University. She has worked as a research assistant and as a medical technologist generalist. Currently, Katrina enjoys working as a Pathologists’ Assistant in Bryan, Texas. 


Member-at-Large: Michael Waide PhD, MT(AMT), CMLA(AMT), AHI (AMT)

Michael Waide resides in Fairmont, West Virginia and was certified by AMT in 2015. He has served on multiple committees at the national level, including Audit and Budget (2021), Legislative Advocacy (2018), CMLA EQS (2018-present), CMLA SME (2018-present), Scientific Speakers (2017-2018), Under-40 Observer to the Board of Directors (2017-2018), and the Board of Directors ad hoc Task Force on finances (2020). He also is a current member of the West Virginia State Society (WVSSAMT) Board of Directors. His awards include  the Moutaineer Service Award in 2019, the Allied Health Instructor of the Year in 2020 and Distinguished Service Award in 2017. Michael is currently the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs and Professor of Medical Laboratory Science at Pierpont Community and Technical College in Fairmont, West Virginia. His degrees include a Master of Philosophy in Human Development from Syracuse University (2017), Masters in Divinity/Theology from Emory University (2003) and a Bachelor of Science in Clinical Laboratory Sciences from West Liberty University (2000). He completed his Doctorate in Education from the American College of Education in 2021.


Member-at-Large: Christopher Williams RMA (AMT)

Christopher Williams lives in Huber Heights, Ohio and was certified as an RMA in 2009. He currently serves as the President of the Ohio State Society of AMT(OHSSAMT) and has held previous positions as OHSSAMT treasurer and editor. In addition, he has served as a member of the AMT Nominating, Student Activities and Scientific Speaker committees. His awards have included: Distinguished Achievement Award (2012), OHSSAMT RMA of the Year (20110 and OHSSAMT AHI of the Year (2018). Christopher has a Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences from Trident University in Cypress, California. He retired in 2021 after serving as an Adjunct Instructor at Ross Medical Education.

Comments are only visible to subscribers.

Theme picker

Earn CE to stay certified

Members qualify for discounted CE.