AMT National Officers Elected
Home / Blog / AMT National Officers Elected

AMT National Officers Elected

As the national professional organization for allied health professionals, American Medical Technologists (AMT) is led by a volunteer board of directors drawn from the association’s members. Meet the newly elected officers of the AMT board, named at the AMT Board of Directors organizational meeting.

The AMT board of directors elected its national officers at the AMT Board of Directors Organizational Meeting on July 5, 2018. The new AMT leadership includes president Jeannie Hobson RMA(AMT) of California (second from right in photo). Elected vice-president was Chris Seay MT(AMT) of Tennessee (second from left); secretary is Deborah Westervelt RMA(AMT) of Missouri (left); and treasurer is Kenneth Hawker MT(AMT) of Utah (right).

President: Jeannie Hobson, RMA, RPT, CMAS, AHI

During her 17 years as an AMT member, Jeannie served as president of the California state society and earned many national honors from AMT including Distinguished Achievement, Exceptional Merit, Pillar, RMA of the Year, RPT of the Year, and Medallion of Merit.

Jeannie felt compelled to serve on the National Board to spread the word about the value of AMT and to build the leadership pipeline for the professional association. “AMT is truly the premier certifying organization,” says Jeannie. “AMT has helped me to become a true professional in my field. It has been my joy to be involved in the different aspects of AMT from the state level to the national level. In some respects, we are still the ‘best kept secret’ and one of my goals is to see that we are no longer in that category. I want to educate others about AMT and all the benefits of our certifying agency. I am encouraged seeing newer members getting involved and want to help mentor these members to fulfill their potential as leaders of AMT.”

Vice President Christopher Seay, MT

Certified in 1993, Chris subsequently served as the TN state society president and is the current CASMET Liaison. Along with many state level honors, Chris has earned three AMT national honors including Exceptional Merit, President’s Award and Distinguished Achievement.

Chris cites three reasons for serving on the AMT National Board 1) To promote AMT as a premier national and international organization. 2) To see AMT progress in the development of specialties within disciplines. 3) To coordinate with all disciplines to ensure professional development. “I strongly believe in progress,” says Chris. “AMT must be a leader in the field of healthcare.”

Secretary Deborah L. Westervelt, RMA, COLT

In the 21 years that she’s been a member, Deborah has served as treasurer for the Missouri State Society, co-chaired the RMA EQS subcommittee, and served on the state legislative committee. Deborah’s national honors include Distinguished Achievement, RMA of the Year, RMA Medallion of Merit, and Pillar Award. For her state-level work she was awarded the Missouri State President’s Award.

As a reason to serve on the national board, Deborah cites her commitment to increasing member involvement and the strength of the association. “I believe to move forward, we need to continue to grow and develop ourselves and new members through quality CEU programs and meetings,” said Deborah.

Treasurer: Kenneth Edward Hawker, MT

Kenneth has been a member of AMT for 41 years. He has served as editor for the Utah state society and was the Western District councilor. His national honors include Distinguished Achievement, Exceptional Merit, Becky Award and Editor of the Year.

Kenneth reports wanting to serve on the AMT Board in order to help lead change. “The allied medical field is experiencing dynamic changes in our current environment,” says Kenneth. “AMT is uniquely positioned to be a critical part of this change as we provide support and education for our members. I believe that our Board is making vital progress in advancing the image and value of our society.”

State delegates also elected three members to the Board of Directors: Martha (Marty) Hinkel MT(AMT) of Wyoming; Harry Narine MT(AMT), RPT(AMT) of Trinidad and Tobago; and Francine Oran RMA(AMT) of Nebraska.

Kudos to all those who have stepped into AMT leadership roles at the local or national level to serve their fellow professionals in allied health!

Comments are only visible to subscribers.

Earn CE to stay certified

Members qualify for discounted CE.